Pa’s gingery meatballs

My pa makes the most delicious gingery meatballs.  The meatballs themselves are very simple.  Just 4 ingredients – minced pork, ginger, cornstarch & egg.  The key to make them as delicious as he makes them though, is to flash fry the ginger until almost-crispy first.  This increases the gingery-fragrance by…. a couple of log scales.  The meatballs then get deep fried (in my parent’s kitchen), or oven baked (in my kitchen)… and before too many get stolen by eager fingers.. they are then simmered in a sauce made out of water, soy sauce & sweet dark soy sauce.

I’ve never seen my mum or dad measure anything out for this recipe.. it is kinda by eye, and I make it the same way.  Start with however much mince pork you wish to use… Estimate an amount of ginger you’d like, and then add a bit more (or a lot more).  The ginger will shrink a bit when it’s been fried.. and trust me.. if you like ginger.. you’d want more in the dish rather than less.  Then add 1 or 2 eggs depending on how much meat you have.  And lastly some corn starch.  The meatballs should be kinda of erm.. meatball consistency.  Not as firm as western-type meatballs.. but not runny either.  More egg makes it runnier and yummier.. and if there’s too much egg.. add more corn starch..

My pa will then deep fry the meatballs.  I dislike deep drying in my small-ish kitchen as the oil gets everywhere, so I tend to bake them.  200 degs centigrade for 15-20 minutes depending on how large you make your balls.

Once done, put in a large sauce pan.  Cover about 1/4 with water, and then a round of soy sauce, and a round of sweet dark soy.  Simmer for about 10-15 minutes.

Eat!

 

2 thoughts on “Pa’s gingery meatballs

  1. I love this. I rarely measure things, so when I write ‘recipes’ up I sometimes find it hard to get across how to measure things by eye or how to season something ‘to taste’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

