Of Weird Salads & Masala Fish..

wp-1465552568432.jpgIt’s too too too hot to cook!!  And I really didn’t fancy cooking any of the things in the fridge (celery, capsicum, aubergine, asparagus)…. But I did start this of in the oven the moment I got home from work as I wanted to eat it ever since I saw it!  I used tilapia instead of salmon… and while I definitly am not buying this packet of very bony frozen tilapia fillets again…. I WILL be repeating the recipe again.  It was yum!

So with the fish half done and cooking in the oven… and just fish not quite being enough for my dinner… I made a strange little salad.

 

It contained..wp-1465552574224.jpg

  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 orange capsicum
  • ~5 stalks of asparagus, blanched (did it with the noodles)
  • 1 serving of mung bean noodles
  • ~8 olives
  • 2 dill pickles sliced

The picture shows it before I dressed it.  I couldn’t decide what to dress it with either (it was a day FULL of indecisions).. so I just poured some chinese black rice vinegar over the tanghoon, and had a little dish of soy sauce and a teaspoon of XO sauce on the side as a dip with the fish.

Quick, simple, cheap, filling. Kinda unconventional…. but that’s the fun of only having to prepare food for myself… even if it sucks, the only person who’d complain is me!

 

One thought on “Of Weird Salads & Masala Fish..

Leave a Reply

