Chinese Leaf with Hoisin marinated Chicken

wp-1470162637218.jpgChinese Leaf is one of my favourite vegetables.  It is very versatile, and my parents cooked a lot with it so the taste and texture of it brings up some nostalgia and makes it feel like homecooking.

This dish is another spur-of-the-moment invention and not one of my parents’ go-to recipes.  I defrosted some chicken in the morning, and only decided to cook it with when I got home in the evening.

I decided to debone and slice the chicken (saving the bones in the freezer for stock later), and marinate in hoisin sauce for 30 minutes before cooking.  It’s not an essential step.. but nice to do when I have enough time to.  The determining factor today was actually because I wasn’t hungry yet, and I was thinking of blogging, and what I could do to make it more interesting for the blog.  The chinese leaf – I removed the outer leafs, and sliced whole about 1/2 inch apart.  The leafs loosen quite easily once sliced.

The order of stir-frying was

  • Heat oil
  • Fry about 2tbsps chopped/sliced garlic until fragrant/golden brown
  • Throw in marinated chicken
  • Stry fry until cooked
  • Throw in chinese leaf, add 2 tbsp of water, 1tbsp soy sauce, dash of white pepper, stir and cover for about 5 minutes
  • Taste and add more seasoning if required.  Once chinese leaf is softened – turn flame off.  Serve with rice!

There we go, another easy stir fry.  Without marinating, the whole thing would have taken me 20 minutes tops.  The rice cooker takes longer than that to do the rice! =)  This cost about £2 for 3-4 meals.  Very affordable and delicious!

One thought on “Chinese Leaf with Hoisin marinated Chicken

Leave a Reply

