Brussel Sprouts & Bacon

Is it Brussel Sprouts or Brussels Sprouts?

wp-1476474194030.jpg

After a long slow week at work… I thought I’d cook myself something healthy but nice tonight.  I’ve done loads of reading and studying the whole week, during my commute and before bed, so good food is essential.  I need to stay healthy and to keep my concentration up.

wp-1476474173258.jpg

The weather cooling down always remind me that it’s brussel sprouts season.  I love having brussel sprouts with bacon, though I’m never very sure whether to call it a sautee or a stir fry.  It’s almost the same thing isn’t it… I’d call it a stir fry, but neither of the main ingredients are from the east.. or usually used in stir fries… so I’m a little hesitant to call it one or the other.

Anyway, it’s 3 cloves of garlic (yes I just loooooooove garlic), a handful of quartered brussel sprouts, a handful of frozen sweetcorn, a handful of quartered mushrooms, and half a handful of sliced bacon.  Easy isn’t it?

And the order

  1. Oil
  2. Garlic
  3. Bacon
  4. Frozen sweetcorn
  5. Brussel sprouts & Mushroom
  6. Capers & Mustard
  7. Black pepper
  8. Serve

I didn’t have any proper carbs with it this time… yea.. trying to lose some weight again.. always an uphill battle.. Sighs..

The final product, flavoured with a teaspoon of capers, a teaspoon of wholegrain mustard, and some ground black pepper was simply delicious.  No need for salt as there was enough in the bacon, and the tanginess of the capers and mustard was a perfect complement to the dish.  I do honestly think I’m a good cook when I put a bit of effort in.

wp-1476474148206.jpg

Food is sooooo important to me.. and not so much the ‘special’ family dishes.  The food I cook and eat everyday is what keeps me going and keeps me healthy and is, to me, one of the most important survival skills, even in this modern age.  Next to saving money…. but home cooking is one of the most important skills in relation to that too.

I can’t really cost this very accurately as everything was bought aaaages ago.  But I’m guessing a quarter packet of brussel sprouts didn’t cost more than 35p, the mushrooms 25p, the bacon 15p, and the sweetcorn 5p.  (I buy cut priced ‘cooking bacon’ which is dirt cheap and is great for stir fries).

Ramble ramble ramble ramble ramble… Hrmph…. stop typing and go do more studying already………..

Leave a Reply

